Real life matching activity

Spring does not seem to come soon unfortunately (at least in Poland) which means we have a lot of bird guests for breakfasts here. A few days ago I set up a real life matching activity for my boys and the younger one (almost 2 years old) got it instantly. He is learning to speak at this moment and each opportunity to name something is interesting for him.

I recently ordered a set of Usborne birds cards from Amazon and it was perfect for this purpose. It contains 30 beautiful illustrations of birds living in UK (I guess), but many of them are the same as in Poland. Illustrations are detailed and accurate as well as really beautiful. I chose 6 birds which are our frequent guests: house sparrow, 2 species of doves, great tit, magpie and a sea gull and just placed them on a wall with washi tape near the window where the birds are coming for breakfast. My son got it in a moment and started to point and name pigeons as soon as they came for breakfast – in fact this is the first thing he does in the morning everyday now.

mapart.me:   Montessori real life matching activity

For more inspiration visit:
Montessori Monday

2 comments
  1. livinglittleslife said:

    What beautifully illustrated cards! I recall sitting on my grandparents porch in the mornings and him teaching me the names of the birds. Whata great idea!

    • I loved when my mom taught us names of birds and also trees in the wood.

Leave a Reply

