Food art – lemon pickles (my illustration)

It’s been a long time since my last post! I wanted to concentrate on my own artistic work recently and together with winter-sicknesses period and lack of computer at home it generated much longer break than I planned.

Today I want to share with you first watercolor illustration in a new series I’m working on – my favourite recipes. Print is available in my Etsy shop.

mapart.me - Lemon Pickles

Here is the recipe – it’s really easy and delicious but you have to wait for 2-3 weeks until they are ready.

LEMON PICKLES (circa 1l jar)

* 5 lemons

* salt

* olive oil (extra virgine)

* a few cloves of garlic

* a few parsley leaves

* red chili pepper

Wash the lemons carefully in warm water. Slice them on circa 5 mm (0.2 inch) pieces. Put the lemons on a plate in layers.Sprinkle each layer with salt generously. Put away for 24 hours.

Towel dry the lemons. Put into a jar. Stick slices of chili, garlic and parsley leaves. Cover with olive oil entirely. Tilt the jar gently to let the air bubbles go.

Wait for 2-3 weeks.

When all lemons are eaten you can use the oil for salad dressings or rosting meet.

Bon apetit!

Leave a Reply

