What’s on our bookshelves (September 2013)

Today I’d like to start a new series: What’s on our bookshelves. Along with books we love and highly recommend I’ll also write about ones which were a little or big disappointment – it may be useful for those of you who come here via search engines looking for a specific title review. I’ll include them at the end of each post if there are any.



mapart.me:   What's on our bookshelves - Child of the World

Child of the World – Montessori, Global Education for Age 3-12+

Susan Mayclin Stephenson

I bought this book basing on Kylie’s from How We Montessori recommendation. Many Montessori books are really intimidating for me despite I know the topic a little bit. I don’t know whether it’s because of language (English isn’t my mother tongue) or the amount of information they include – I feel overwhelmed and finally they gather dust. This book is totally different! It’s small, easy to read and keep Montessori simple. After reading it Montessori seems very easy and obvious way of life. This book was a great surprise for me, I highly recommend it especially for those of you who are quite new to Montessori.



mapart.me:   What's on our bookshelves - Nature Guide Rocks and Minerals (DK Nature Guide)

Nature Guide Rocks and Minerals (DK Nature Guide)

Publisher: Dorling Kindersley

This book was featured by Kate from An Everyday Story here and I immediately bought it as I love rocks, stones and minerals like anything else. I must admit my 3,5 years son didn’t pay any attention to it but I really, really love it (it is rather book for adults or older children I think). It contains general introduction and a bit of information about each mineral. The photos are beautiful, quality of the book, paper, cover and everything is very high. I recommend it to anyone who loves stones as I do and I’ll check other books from this publisher for sure.



mapart.me:   What's on our bookshelves - Montessori Number Work

Montessori: Number Work

Bobby and June George

This book is very well done in many aspects – it is thick and sturdy, the numbers are textured (a little bit), it has simple, yet beautiful, images. But the idea is to “introduce the numbers 1 to 10 first as quantities to count before showing them as numerals” (description from Amazon) which means there are for example two owls on the right page and when you turn the page you can see number “2” on the left page. But then on the right page you have three cars which is totally confusing. I must admit when I first opened this book and saw number “2” and three cars I thought “OMG, I must be tired if I cannot count to 2!”. That’s why I do not recommend this book and didn’t even give it to my son in order not to mess with his mind.

mapart.me:   What's on our bookshelves - Montessori: Number WorkI get the idea of introducing pictures with quantities at first, but it should be done on flash cards for example. In this way it makes more mess than teaches numbers IMO.

Leave a Reply

