Brita Lanning

Although I usually don’t like nonrepresentational art I find these paintings by Brita Lanning pretty interesting. If you would like to see more visit her site here.

mapart.me:    Brita Lanning - Skumt

Brita Lanning – Skumt

mapart.me:    Brita Lanning - Berattelse

Brita Lanning – Berattelse

mapart.me:    Brita Lanning - Skymt

Brita Lanning – Skymt

mapart.me:    Brita Lanning - Kommunikation

Brita Lanning – Kommunikation

mapart.me:    Brita Lanning - Kontrast

Brita Lanning – Kontrast

mapart.me:    Brita Lanning - Slinga

Brita Lanning – Slinga

mapart.me:    Brita Lanning - Landskap

Brita Lanning – Landskap

mapart.me:    Brita Lanning - Mural

Brita Lanning – Mural

mapart.me:    Brita Lanning - Rytml

Brita Lanning – Rytml

mapart.me:    Brita Lanning - Stad

Brita Lanning – Stad

mapart.me:    Brita Lanning - Utsikt

Brita Lanning – Utsikt

All images via artist’s site.

5 comments
  1. I like these too but I wouldn’t describe them as non representational (though I know what you mean). All art represents something after all – to me these are landscapes, maybe suburban landscapes.

    • mapartme said:

      It’s funny – I looked at these paintings once again today and now I get what you say about landscapes. Some of them really look like suburban landscapes… Maybe it’s because of winter time – at this moment all real landscapes have colors used in these paintings – white, brown, black – and are a little “messy”.

  2. It seems the term “non representational” is very subjective. These paintings didn’t remind me anything apart from “Kontrast” which looks like osmosis illustration ;)

  3. nannus said:

    I find it a bit astonishing that you don’t like non-representational art. The sattelite images you are posting are often very beautiful. Their beauty does neither come from nor depend on the fact that they are images of parts of earth’s surface. It is the completely structural beauty of partially ordered, partially irregular forms. One can forget they are maps or photographs and just take them as abstract art. I like them for the same reasons I like non-representational art.

  4. Hmmm, maybe it’s not I don’t like nonrepresentational art at all – some of such paintings I really love, or satellite images which you mentioned – they are my favourite art pieces. But I’m very demanding (is it a good word relating to art?) in this area and rarely see something I really love and cannot say what does it remind me (so it’s nonrepresentational for me).

Leave a Reply

